Mushroom or Chickpea Walnut Burgers

14 Jul

This is my version of a popular  veggie burger.  It resembles the Original Gardenburger, but adds chickpeas for additional protein.  For variety, I substitute cooked mushrooms for the chick peas.

I make up a batch, form the patties and freeze them.  When I’m ready to prepare a few patties, I take them out to thaw, then bake them in my toaster oven.  They take about 35 minutes to cook at 35o degrees F.

Serve with this dressing:

  • Yogurt-Tahini Dressing (makes 1 cup):
  •   3 tablespoons tahini
  • 1/2 tsp. onion flakes
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarse sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cumin

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and stir to blend.

 

Last two photos show a mushroom burger, on Yogurt Yeast Bread.

Here’s the recipe:  chickpea-walnut-burgers

DSCN3569DSCN3570

One Response to “Mushroom or Chickpea Walnut Burgers”

  1. Simone July 17, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Oh my goodness I’m hungry now!

Leave a Reply

